Lake Puckaway Protection & Rehabilitation District Emergency Board Meeting

Thursday, March 7, 2024 | 4:00 P.M. | Marquette Village Hall 127 E. 4th St, Marquette, WI 53947

Board Members Present

- John Harter, Treasurer
- Paul Gettelman, Commissioner
- Maddy Wergin, Secretary/Town of Mecan Appointee
- Bob Schweder, Green Lake County Appointee

Board Members Absent

• N/A

Call to Order/Roll Call

- Maddy called the meeting to order as interim chairman as next in line as secretary at 4:00 pm.
- Meeting notices and agenda were posted on Tuesday at the Apuckawa boat launch, Charlevoix boat launch, Piggly Wiggly (Princeton), the LPPRD website, and the newspaper.
- Maddy states that the board called this emergency meeting in order to reorganize and be able to conduct business with a full board, such as creating a budget for the annual meeting in the future. Currently, the district is not able to write checks and pay balances, so an emergency meeting was needed in order to achieve this goal. LPPRD consulted with Wisconsin Lakes to get their recommendations about the situation they suggested holding an emergency 10-minute meeting to meet, reorganize, and fill the 3 vacancies.
- Wisconsin Statute Chapter 33, which governs Lake Districts, 33.28(7) states "if a vacancy occurs in the membership of the board under sub. (2)(c), the chairperson of the board shall appoint a person to fill the remainder of the unexpired term, subject to approval by a majority vote of the board."
- Maddy states that she is going to pass the chairman hat to next in line the treasurer, John, as he is an elected commissioner and feel it is only fair that he makes the appointment and continue leading the meeting.
- Maddy further states that because this should be a quick 10-15 minute meeting to reorganize and be able to conduct business in the future with a full board, there will be no public comment.
- Roll call taken as reflected above.

Approve Agenda

• Paul makes motion to approve the agenda. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.

Postpone approving 2/19/2024 meeting minutes until next regular meeting

• Paul makes motion to postpone approving the 2/19/2024 meeting minutes until the next regular meeting. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.

Appoint Commissioners to Vacant Positions

- John appoints Rick Stel to the vacant commissioner seat previously held by Jaimes Johnson. Term runs from 2021 annual meeting to 2024 annual meeting. Paul makes motion to approve the appointment. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.
- John appoints Don Dysland to the vacant commissioner seat previously held by Willy Stalker. Term runs from 2021 annual meeting to 2024 annual meeting. Paul makes motion to approve the appointment. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.
- John appoints Kyle Miller to the vacant commissioner seat previously held by Dustin Esselman. Term runs from 2022 annual meeting to 2025 annual meeting. Paul makes motion to approve the appointment. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.

Elect Officers (Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer)

- Paul moves to elect John Harter as Chairman. Seconded by Maddy. Motion passed.
- Paul moves to elect Maddy Wergin as Secretary. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.
- Paul moves to elect Kyle Miller as Treasurer. Seconded by Bob. Motion passed.

Adjourn

• Meeting adjourned at 4:06 pm.